New! ODL -DEB Proposal 2023-2024 New! Admission 2024-2025 Admissions - AHS Chat with a Student

Institutional Animal Ethics Committee

Home / Institutional Animal Ethics Committee



Central Animal Facility at VISTAS caters to the educational needs of undergraduate and post graduate and Research Students of School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Life Sciences, School of Basic Sciences and Biomedical Engineering. It provides immense opportunity for the research scholars to pursue their research. The Central Animal Facility is well maintained according to CCSEA guidelines to facilitate preclinical studies. All research proposals are carried out only after obtaining the approval of Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC).

IAEC was constituted in 2006 and registered with CPCSEA. It takes care of all aspects of animal care and research in accordance with CPCSEA guidelines.


The functions of the Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC) are as follows:

  • To see that all those persons involved in animal care and research are adequately trained to handle the animals
  • To review and approve research proposals involving lab animals
  • To provide suggestions for modification of the proposals wherever necessary
  • To conduct periodic supervision of Institute’s animal facility
  • To ascertain ethical use of animals and protection of well being of animals during and after research


IAEC was constituted in 2000 and registered with CCSEA. It takes care of all aspects of animal care and research in accordance with CCSEA guidelines.


Institutional Animals Ethics committee shall include eight members as follows:

  •  IAEC members from the establishment
  • Chairperson of the Committee
  • Member Secretary
  • One biological scientist
  • Two scientists from different biological disciplines
  • One veterinarian involved in the care of animal
  • One scientist in charge of animal facility of the establishment concerned

Nominees from the CPCSEA

  • Main Nominee
  • Link Nominee
  • Scientist from outside the Institute
  • Socially Aware Nominee


S.No.NameDesignation in IAEC
1Dr. P. ShanmugasundaramChairperson and Biological Scientist
2Dr. C. Ronald DarwinMember Secretary
3Dr. Karthickeyan KScientist from different biological discipline
4Dr. A.K. KathiresanScientist from different biological discipline
5Dr. Ruchika LakshmananVeterinarian
6Dr. A. GopinathanMain Nominee
7Dr. D. SivaramanLink Nominee
8Dr. R. Anandha RajaScientist from outside the institute
9Dr. P.K SarangiSocially aware nominee